How to remove your Twitter account permanently?

Are you a Twitter user? Are you thinking of quitting Twitter? Are you fed up with Doomsurfing?

If the answer is yes. We are going to discuss here how to delete a Twitter account permanently.

As we all know that social media is a platform to have breaking news and current events details. Twitter is a microblogging and social networking service on which users post and interact with messages named tweets. Twitter is a platform to know what is happening and what people are talking about. From breaking news and entertainment to sports and politics, we can get the full story with all the live commentary. As social networking sites are meant to be up to date with the world news and connect globally. But these days Dooms scrolling means spending an excess amount of screentime on the negative news. Excessive consumption of negative news may result in harmful psychological responses in many cases. It is like feeding your mind with negative food. According to the famous saying, Science has its own advantages and disadvantages the same thing applies to social media. We keep feeding ourselves with bad news and feel anxious but keep scrolling anyway. The worst example of it was seen during the Covid 19 period when people were spending their full time on these sites for long hours during lockdowns. Now if you are ready to come out of this trap of negativity and decided to quit Twitter. Here we have action steps to delete your Twitter account permanently.

Deactivate your account

To delete your account it is required to deactivate it first. For this go to the right-hand corner of the screen and click on settings and privacy.  Under your account, there will option available for deactivation. Tap on it and it will ask you whether you want to deactivate it or cancel it. Click on deactivate the account. After this, your Twitter account name and profile picture will not appear on Twitter. After this, you can go to the option of permanently deleting your account, and tap on it. Now the account will be deleted. You can reactivate the same account within a period of 30 days or 12 months. Now if you don’t reactivate it will be deleted automatically after 30 days. If you find that your account is active besides deactivation of your account and it is not reactivated by you. Then it may happen that it has been done through the third-party app to whom you have given permission to do so. In this case, make sure that you cancel the third-party access to your account by their app.

If the user wants to have their old tweets then Twitter allows them to download their archives. If the user doesn’t access his account within 30 days period then the account will be deleted automatically.

In case you found that information related to your account is still available on Google and other search engines. Then you can follow the appropriate search engine to delete it from there too.

That’s all for deleting a Twittertwitter account.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.